Sustainable Agriculture Scholarship for Farmers

In memory of Peter and Wendy Olsen

Sponsored by the Department for Environment and Water


To provide farmers (aged 18-40) in South Australia with the opportunity to improve personal and professional skills that will benefit the industry, the individual in their own business or employment and the sustainability of natural resources that underpin primary production.


The Sustainable Agriculture Scholarship for Farmers (The Scholarship) may be used for study tours, courses or further study or assist to directly fund their commencement of a specific project.


The Scholarship is made possible from funding from the Department for Environment and Water (DEW) and offers an $10,000 grant to the successful recipient.  DEW is committed to supporting communities and industry to make decisions and take action to ensure the sustainable use of our natural resources.


The Scholarship is open to all young South Australian farmers between the ages of 18-40 who have been involved in farming, as their principal activity for the past 12 months.


Selection of the recipient will be based upon the applicant’s abilities, achievements and motivation to succeed in a primary production career (agriculture, horticulture, viticulture or aquaculture).

The recipient will need to demonstrate competency in a range of farming and interpersonal skills and will be expected to work within his/her chosen industry while holding The Scholarship.

Finalists will then be selected and interviewed by the selection panel.


Deadline for Applications EXTENDED: 5pm Wednesday, July 27th.

2022 Sustainable Agriculture Scholarship Application Form - sponsored by DEW
Please return completed forms to

We thank the Department for Environment and Water for their ongoing support of the Agricultural Bureau of SA's Spirit of Excellence in Agriculture Awards night and the Sustainable Agriculture Scholarship.


2021 winner: Congratulations to Jasmin Piggott

2021 Spirit of Excellence In Agriculture Awards

2021 Sustainable Agriculture Scholarship Recipient, Jasmin Piggott with DEW representative Matt Ward

Past winners

  • 2020 Ellen Zibell
  • 2019 Paul McGorman
  • 2018  Ruth Sommerville
  • 2017  Tracy Bonython
  • 2016  Christopher Hallion
  • 2015  James Smith
  • 2014  Tara Hindson
  • 2013  Celia Scott
  • 2012  Damian McArdle
  • 2011  Russell Zwar
  • 2010  Rachel Chrigwin
  • 2009  Jason Schulz
  • 2008  Brook Seal
  • 2007  Steven Newman
  • 2006  Brendon Johns
  • 2005  Lachlan Bell
  • 2004  Damien Tscharke
  • 2003  Clinton Tiller
  • 2002  Amy Williams
  • 2001  Kristin Pearce
  • 2000  Kimberley Zohs