Rural Youth Bursary


To provide young people (18-30) working in rural areas within South Australia the opportunity to pursue further study, undertake a study tour or to develop a special project, which will ultimately benefit the rural community.

The Rural Youth Bursary (The Bursary) is open to applicants employed in any rural capacity and not restricted to primary production.


The Bursary is made possible by funding from Primary Industries and Regions SA and offers a $5000 grant to the successful recipient.  PIRSA is committed to growing primary industries and driving regional development.


The Bursary is open to all young South Australians (18-30) working in rural areas who wish to pursue further study, undertake a study tour or to develop a special project, in their chosen career.  Applicants must submit their own applications.


Selection will be based upon the applicant’s abilities, achievements and motivation to succeed in their chosen career.

The recipient will need to demonstrate competency in their study, career and interpersonal skills and will be expected to work within his/her chosen career while holding The Bursary.  They will also need to demonstrate how this will benefit their rural community.

A written application by the applicant must be submitted prior to the deadline.

Finalists will then be selected and interviewed by the selection panel.


Deadline for Applications EXTENDED: 5pm Wednesday, July 27th.

2022 Rural Youth Bursary Application - sponsored by PIRSA
Please return completed forms to

We thank Primary Industries and Regions SA for their ongoing support of the Agricultural Bureau of SA's Spirit of Excellence in Agriculture Awards night and the Rural Youth Bursary.

2021 winner: Congratulations Emily Buddle

2021 Spirit of Excellence In Agriculture Awards

2021 Rural Youth Bursary Recipient: Emily Buddle with the Hon. David Basham

Past winners

  • 2020 Matthew Maunder
  • 2019 Grace Sampson
  • 2018  Luke Ramsay
  • 2017  Kayla Starkey
  • 2016  Matthew Howell
  • 2015  Rachel Chirgwin
  • 2014  Alexandra Thomas
  • 2013  Chloe Shaw
  • 2012  Alex Milner-Smyth
  • 2011  Penny Schulz
  • 2010  Chris Stacey
  • 2009  Abbey McKenna