You are here: 
text zoom : S | M | L
Printer Friendly Version
Further Enquiries

Agricultural Bureau of South Australia

Phone: (08) 8364 5063
Fax: (08) 8364 2574


facebook logo

Lois Harris Scholarship

2013 Winner: Congratulations Andrew Catford

The Agricultural Bureau of South Australia provides a scholarship to encourage senior high school students to consider undertaking agricultural studies at tertiary level in South Australia.

The $2000 Lois Harris Scholarship is awarded to a first year student studying the Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences at the University of Adelaide. The scholarship is named in memory of Lois Harris, a member of the Advisory Board of Agriculture from 1995 to 1998, who died in 1998.

One scholarship is awarded each year, usually to a student entering the course with an excellent Tertiary Entrance Rank (TER).

Students need not apply.


There shall be one scholarship, to be known as "The Lois Harris Agricultural Bureau Scholarship". The purpose of the scholarship is to provide $2000 to a first-year student studying in the Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences Course at the University of Adelaide.

One scholarship will be available each year, subject both to the availability of funds and students of sufficient merit.

Eligible students must have undertaken Year 12 studies in South Australia and be enrolled full-time in the Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences Course at the University of Adelaide. To be eligible, students must be Australian citizens or permanent residents.

Holders of other major scholarships for commencing students are ineligible for the scholarship. Selection will be based on the TER (Tertiary Entrance Rank) or equivalent, on the recommendation of the Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies after consultation with the Advisory Board of Agriculture (the governing body of the Agricultural Bureau of SA Inc).

Subject to the other provisions, the scholarship will be awarded on an annual basis. It will be paid in two equal instalments after the HECS Census date. The second instalment will be subject to continued enrolment in that year and satisfactory performance in first semester.

A scholarship may be suspended at any time if the Faculty of Sciences (formerly Agricultural & Natural Resource Sciences) is not satisfied with the scholar's progress and it may be terminated at any time if, in the opinion of the University, the scholar is guilty of misconduct.

These rules may be changed by the Advisory Board of Agriculture from time to time.